ORIGIN STORY

For my comic, not me. That was my last post. Guys, I am getting lost in my origin story, but I do feel much better about it after tonight’s gathering. I just attended my second “comic writers and artists” meet up, and like last week, it was really fun, informative, and inspiring. Plus, I got great feedback on my story and I think the people seem generally excited. And we’re all comic nerds so that’s gotta mean something, right?

I’m sort of stoned so let’s see if I can give an outline of my comic in a way that keeps you interested (this is going to explain the 1st issue- but I plan on making more). My story starts out with the main character checking her email at work. A case pops up and a close up panel shows a case file of an 8 year old boy that is stabbing kids at school and shows up with cuts and bruises all the time. Dad’s on his third DUI and was recently jailed for taking out a guy’s eye in a bar fight. The main character- I think her name is gunna be August (I don’t know, I just like that name, but if you have any ideas leave them in a comment)-so August recognizes the kid on the case file because she received his case two years ago. She linked him with a therapist, and that was supposed to be that. Obviously, the kid hasn’t been helped much, cause his behavior and the physical signs of abuse have only gotten worse. So August decides it’s time to fuck up the dad, because he hasn’t done anything to help his son out, and it shows. Mentally and physically. So August finds out what bar he goes to, goes there lookin cute, of course he hits on her, she gets in his car, he makes a move, blah blah blah. She blinds him- both eyes- and dips, had a Lyft or whatever around the corner waiting for her and she goes home. In the car ride, the driver asks if she heard about “the guy who was claiming he could see the future” and all this other stuff that happened the next big town over (all of these details are more explained in my script obviously). She just responds “how sad” and acts unimpressed and then goes home. Later, she anonymously sends the boy’s Grandmother the necessary paperwork to file for custody so he can get away from his deadbeat dad. (I know there’s more complications to be thought of but I’ve considered that, and her lack of attention to detail and rash decision making will come up later). A few days later she receives another case, and this one is going to be based off the real case my stepmom told me about involving the 3 year old boy and 5 year old girl. Here’s where I fill in some blanks and add some stuff- the dad is going to be involved in prostitution ring so he’s in business with some sketchy people. I’m going to make the reader really hate this guy though. The mom too. They’re going to wish a slow painful death on these folks. you’ll have to read my comic (eventually) to see what I mean though, for now, just believe me for context’s sake. Anyways I think that’s gunna be where I leave off the first issue, so the cliffhanger will be this shitty case that hopefully will pull the reader in hoping that August does something about it.

I included the driver talking about the future-seeing-guy because that’s a foreshadow to the other part of this comic book: some of the people in their universe have powers. Also, I don’t want it to appear to be a superhero thing, so I went off a bit here. You know how tuberculosis used to be called “consumption” back in the day? Well, I’m using that. Basically, in this “universe”, there’s a disease called consumption that is essentially a degenerative brain disease for which there is no cure. There is a medicine that can slow down the progression (like medication for HIV) and people can live almost a full life if they keep up with the medication. If not, the disease eats away at the brain and in some cases severing connections between the left and right hemispheres of the brain- which causes, well, pretty interesting damage. Every so often the damage that occurs sort of creates abilities by allowing the brain to work at it’s “full capacity” if you will, and slightly beyond. It works in the scope of my story too that lower income families cannot afford the medication to slow this disease down so it’s more likely that someone living in poverty is more likely to possess a special ability. Now, taking the medication doesn’t take away a power, if someone has brain damage and a special ability, the medication would only stop the disease from creating FURTHER brain damage. Oh and by the way, this is not known to the general public that anyone has anything other than brain damage. Obviously, the public thought the guy that talked about the future was insane, literally.

So that’s a big part there. I am really tired and have a chemistry lab tomorrow at 8 and I haven’t done the pre-lab so I am going to do that, unfortunately. But I have a lot more origin-story details I will write in the next post, including details about my girl, August. If I’ve kept your interest, then stay tuned. I hope you’ll like the other parts of my story (my comic writers club sure did)! Thanks for readin.

One thought on “ORIGIN STORY

  1. What?! Jeez Sophie I️ had no idea you were this far in tour idea and quest with this! How amazing and creative and fun. So proud of you! Will call today😘

    Like

Leave a comment